top of page

MAKING IT PRETTY

First post

I've been reading and following blogs since 2011 and have pretty much wanted to start my own blog since then. It's now 2017 and I'm finally writing my first post. Why the delay...well in 2012 I had my first baby girl and my life was flipped upside down and turned inside out so I never found the time. In 2015 I had my second baby girl and decided this time to be a stay at home mummy for a while. Read, I have between 45 minutes to 2 hours a day for myself depending on how long nap time lasts. So I have decided that 2017 is going to be my year of doing rather than just saying.

Firstly, I mainly want my blog to be a record of my makes just for me. Since 2012 when I got back into sewing seriously I have made many garments that have been worn, loved and retired or my style has changed and they were donated all without any record of them. Maybe the odd photograph of them on holiday but since having the girls we pretty much take 1000's of photographs of them but none of ourselves.

Secondly, I would like to connect with other sewers/sewists/makers and hopefully make friends....#BillyNoMates. No seriously I do have lots of friends but none of them sew and I can see their eyes glaze over when I start to talk about sewing. I have recently made a friend of one of the mums at my daughters school and found out that she sews too - it was great to talk seam finishes and techniques and geek out with someone who understands me. So in this vain I will be taking part in a number of sewing tours such as SewMyStyle. I have also made a Make 9 list and I want to start the wardrobe architect series. Finally, I'm desperately trying to reduce my stash so I'm following the Stash Less series.

So what will you find here on my blog? Well it will be mainly clothes for me. I do occassionally make clothes for my daughters but to be honest I havent made anything for my 1 year old as they grow so quickly within the first year and I had a load of clothes from my first daughter for her to wear as they were both born in May so everything was age/season apprpriate. I rarely make anything for my 4 year old as she only ever wants to wear tulle skirts. I hate gathering and sewing tulle so that doesnt' happen often. Although she has suddenly turned into a dirty child and cannot stay clean for more than 5 minutes and seeing as her current two tulle skirts are cream and white means I will need to get her some darker coloured ones. I do have some black spot tulle in my stash so I really should put the effort in to making that asap.

Now onto what you won't find on my blog? Great quality photographs. I do hope to get better at taking photos of myself in the future but to be honest I don't have any clear walls in my house that have good light so I'm not really sure how things will work on that front but I'm just going to roll with it. I do have a good dslr camera so I'm sure I'll get better as time goes on.

Well I think that's it for my first post.

  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
FEATURED POSTS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page